Whole 30 Week 1

This week has been infinitely more difficult than I expected. I’ve done “clean eating” weeks before with no trouble, but this… it’s a whole new realm. I’ve had zero energy, zero appetite, and awful stomach pain. From my research it seems this is normal for a select few of us. Go figure.

I did the best I could with what I had. No rules were broken so I’m still on track and plan to continue despite the current misery. Hopefully next week will be better.

A few notes about my food log: I didn’t record snacks because, honestly, taking pictures of everything gets old. I never had more than 1 snack a day. Though I felt hungry at times, I had little desire to eat after the first two days. Snacks included cashews and almonds, Larabars, and apples.

Also, I didn’t finish the majority of these meals. I got full quickly and didn’t feel like finishing. This is entirely new territory for me because being full hasn’t always stopped me. Luckily, I have a garbage disposal that never breaks down!

Jake the Wonderdog to the rescue!

Without further ado, I present my food log. Links are included for recipes and products I enjoyed.

Day 1: Breakfast – fried eggs on spinach with mashed sweet potatoes. Lunchchicken burger with spinach, spicy mustard, and pickles, steamed broccoli, and applesauce. Dinner – sirloin roast with potatoes and carrots.

Sweet cravings – high. Heartburn – mild during workout. Energy – burned out by 8pm (didn’t sleep well the previous night).

Day 2: Breakfast – (Fail: It was supposed to be sweet potatoes, spinach, and eggs baked in a ramekin but I didn’t realize how long that would take.) Sweet potatoes, Larabar, and almond butter . Lunch – sirloin roast with potatoes and carrots, and applesauce. Dinnerroasted sausage with gold potatoes and sweet peppers (I could eat this 3 meals a day and be perfectly happy).

Sweet cravings – high. Heartburn – none. Energy – average.

Day 3: Breakfast –  fried eggs on spinach with mashed sweet potatoes. Lunch – roasted sausage with gold potatoes and sweet peppers and applesauce. Dinner – roasted sausage with gold potatoes and sweet peppers.

Sweet cravings – high. Heartburn – from about 9 pm until I went to bed. Energy – horrible even though I got 7 hours of sleep. I was tired all day long and barely talked myself into doing my workout.

Day 4: Breakfast –  (please forgive the partially eaten photo) hard-boiled eggs on spinach with cracked pepper dressing and mashed sweet potatoes. Lunch – roasted sausage with gold potatoes and sweet peppers, and applesauce. Dinnerbaked salmon (topped with garlic spread) with charred broccoli and potatoes with bbq sauce.

Sweet cravings – high (successfully avoided a Hershey kiss left on my desk). Heartburn – none. Energy – so tired that I could barely function at times.

Day 5: Breakfast –  Salad with hard-boiled eggs, carrots, sweet peppers, and cracked pepper dressing. Lunch – hot dogs with ketchup, carrots, sweet peppers, hard-boiled egg, pickles, and applesauce. Dinnerbaked salmon (topped with garlic spread) with charred broccoli and potatoes with bbq sauce.

Sweet cravings – high (really just craving all things junk). Heartburn – mild in the evening. Energy – still completely worn out.

Day 6: Breakfast –  fried eggs on spinach with sweet peppers. Lunch – turkey, carrots, hard-boiled egg, pickles, and applesauce. Dinner – meatza with salsa, sweet peppers, and jalapeños.

Sweet cravings – mild (craving bread). Heartburn – none. Energy – still tired.

*Note – my workout was only 30 minutes and probably around 250 calories. I got distracted by some street racers (maybe?) roaring through my quiet neighborhood and forgot to hit stop. It happens. Also, I’ve been supremely irritable the last 2 days.

Day 7: Breakfast –  hot dogs with broccoli. Lunch – spinach salad with turkey, sweet peppers, jalapeños, and southwest ranch dressingDinner – 2 small sweet potatoes with cinnamon (felt too horrible to eat and even turned down having dinner with some of my favorite people at my favorite restaurant, Stock and Barrel).

Sweet cravings – mild (voraciously wanting some bread). Heartburn – none. Energy – better but not quite back to my version of normal.

3 thoughts on “Whole 30 Week 1

  1. Heartburn from the sausage maybe? Sorry your energy has been low 😦 ….are you eating enough calories? (I’m not up to speed on the Whole 30’s caloric or amount of meal requirements). Maybe your body takes time to adjust to burning meat/veggie fuel vs. carb fuel? I hope this week is going better. I stand in awe of your determination friend. Please come to my house and slap the cheetos and thin mints out of my hands…seriously, I’m looking at them on my desk at this moment :/ Grrr…I do have some lovely strawberries and blood oranges in my kitchen though….I just am too junk addicted to crave them over the junk at this moment. Back to you….you are going to be smokin’ hot and I bet you get hit on by a lot of European hotties…. 😉

    Like

    1. The heartburn could have come from the sausage but if that’s the case then I’ll just live with it lol.

      Low energy is normal until week 3 because your body is learning to use different food as fuel. I just wasn’t expecting to be quite so tired. It’s improving this week. I’m probably not eating enough at times because I don’t always have an appetite or I feel like I’ll go crazy if I have to eat one more bite of meat or another veggie 😉

      Get a box. Put all the junk in the box. Tell David he’s got 10 minutes to pull out what he wants and make it disappear cause the rest is going in the trash! If it’s in my house, I’ll eat it. Out of sight, out of mind. Giving up ALL sugar (including honey and pure maple) has done wonders for my sweet cravings!! More on that at the end of week 2 which is only 2 days away! It’s going by quickly.

      Like

      1. The problem is, I know where he stashes stuff…haha! I’m getting there…I’m almost there. I don’t know if I could do the Whole 30, because I’m like you on not wanting another piece of meat or veggie… but I’ll get clean…er. 😛

        Like

Leave a Reply

