Excitements

First and foremost, my adorable twin nieces turn 3 today! They’re definitely not sugar, and spice, and everything nice but they do love eating sugar, their middle names are spices, and… well, they’re cute.

1507727_808313253748_836935335816800716_n
Raiding the Halloween candy bowl

Next on the list, I finished 60 days of Les Mills Combat! I’m pretty gosh darn proud of myself for finishing. Yesterday, instead of working out as usual, I laid in bed and finished my friend’s phenomenal book (that just happens to be dedicated in part to yours truly). It was magical. But when I woke up this morning, I was humming the tunes from the workouts and missing punching the heck out of thin air. I’m going to continue to let my body rest though for 3 full days before I start Round 2 with my gorgeous friend Rebecca on Sunday. It’ll be great to have a buddy this time and hopefully we’ll do a better job of communicating than we have been!

Also on Sunday, I’m starting Whole30. It’s an elimination diet along the lines of paleo. Basically you eliminate everything but meat, veggies, fruit, healthy fats, and nuts/seeds from your diet for 30 days. After that, you slowly reintroduce things like wheat, soy, sugar, dairy, and alcohol until you figure out which one is the problem child. My primary reasons for trying this madness? 1. I’ve had a monster sweet tooth lately and it has got to stop. 2. I’ve had persistent heartburn/indigestion (I don’t really know the difference) for about 6 weeks and I’m over it. 3. I could potentially lose 15 pounds.

We’re up to excitement 4 now. I got 2 new camera lenses and photo editing software! Let’s ignore how much it all cost. I have 2 amazing new lenses to practice with while I learn to use manual mode on my camera. Hopefully I’ll get some play time in this weekend. I did make a mistake in my ordering though… I had the choice to buy a DVD or a download and decided I wanted to have a physical copy. A day after I ordered, I remembered my fancy modern Macbook doesn’t have a DVD drive. So I also had to order an external USB drive. My bad.

Last and least, I’ve got 6 weeks until I take my professional engineering exam again. I don’t want to study. I don’t want to take it. I’m completely rebelling against it. And yet, I will study and I will take it again. (Please don’t tell me I’ll pass cause you don’t know that. Everyone told me that last time too. And maybe I’m a little bitter and pressured by everyone’s optimism.)

T minus 30 minutes until weekend mode…

 

 

One thought on “Excitements

  1. Gorgeous…pshh, far from, but thank you for the undeserved compliment any way! I’m honestly nervous that I’ve made this commitment, but at the same time excited. It felt so good when I finished the Day 1 workout yesterday…I even opted for more exercise and went walking with the fam. Ha! I’m thankful for you friend and that you “get me” in this battle.

    You are also killing it with your photo skills already. When the wild flowers pop out, lets seriously go to the mountains together and you can teach me 😉 And that’s hilarious about the DVD…my FIL did the same with the turbo tax this year, but I have a DVD drive still on the iMac, so I just copied the files to a USB Flash Drive and then put them on his computer.

    Have a great week!

    Like

Leave a Reply

